Oedipus and Akhnaton

, ,

Oedipus and Akhnaton (1960) is Velikovsky’s fourth book, and second in the series following Ages in Chaos. Velikovsky explains that he:

“… read Freud’s last book, Moses and Monotheism, and was prompted to read more about Akhnaton, the real hero of that book. Soon I was struck by some close parallels between this Egyptian king and the legendary Oedipus. A few months later I found myself in the libraries of the New World, among many large volumes containing the records of excavations in Thebes and el-Amarna. This study carried me into the larger field of Egyptian history and to the concept of Ages in Chaos – a reconstruction of twelve hundred years of ancient history, twelve years of toil. ..”

“… it properly follows Ages in Chaos, Volume 1, which covered the time from the great upheaval that closed the Middle Kingdom in Egypt to the time of Pharaoh Akhnaton. The present short book tells his story and that of the tragic events at the end of the Eighteenth Dynasty. In its wake, another volume of Ages in Chaos, too long postponed, will be concluded, bringing my historical reconstruction to the advent of Alexander.”[1]Immanuel Velikovsky, Oedipus and Akhnaton, 1960, Doubleday & Company, ISBN: 0-385-00529-6

Book contents

  • Acknowledgments
  • Foreword
  • Illustrations

Part 1

  • The Legend
  • The Sphinx
  • The Seven-Gated Thebes and The Hundred-Gated Thebes
  • Amenhotep III and Tiy
  • A Stranger on the Throne
  • “King Living in Truth”
  • The City of the Sun
  • The Queen’s Brother
  • The King’s Mother and Wife
  • Incest
  • Nefretete
  • The King Deposed
  • The Blind Seer
  • The Blind King

Part 2

  • “A Ghastly Sight of Shame”
  • “Crowned with Every Rite”
  • “A Tomb-Pit in the Rock”
  • “Only One Sister O’er His Bier”
  • Tiy’s End
  • “This Was Oedipus”
  • King Ay and a “Tumult of Hatred”
  • The Curse
  • Trails Over the Sea
  • The Seer of Our Time
  • End

Publishing details

  • Author: Immanuel Velikovsky
  • Title: Oedipus and Akhnaton
  • Subtitle: Myth and History
  • Publ. date: 1960
  • Publisher Doubleday and Company
  • ISBN ISBN 0-385-00529-6
  • LIC No: n/a
  • Dedicated to: Horace M. Kallen

See also


1 Immanuel Velikovsky, Oedipus and Akhnaton, 1960, Doubleday & Company, ISBN: 0-385-00529-6
Skip to content